I feel a little zapped from yesterday’s hospital trip. After a long awaited, rescheduled Urology appointment & the clinic running really behind, I’ve come away needing bladder/kidney scans, a cystoscopy & a few other things to monitor.

It’s taken a long time to get this appointment with the pandemic & now that it’s arrived, I feel a combination of relief, hopefulness & anxiety.

I had a lovely, empathetic Dr who acknowledged I’ve had an awful lot to deal with & gave me the time I needed to ask questions. It’s always a comfort when somebody recognises that things have been pretty shaky in the health department.

I’ve had a mixed bag when it comes to consultations; some that reel off your comorbidities as though it’s a daily checklist & some that stop to say ‘bloody hell’, or words to that effect. It’s always the latter that make an imprint. Those that treat you like a human with feelings, as opposed to a number. Those that consider you might be feeling exhausted, fed up & emotionally drained from it all.

They’re putting me through sooner rather than later but I’m told it’s still likely to be a while with their backlogs. This doesn’t surprise me; I’m just grateful there’s a plan in motion.

On a side note, I got to see 2 lovely staff members from the Breast Unit who happened to be sent over to support the clinic. It always helps to see a familiar face! Sometimes I don’t think they realise how much of an impact they truly have. 💗

Leave a comment