I recently read that after we experience a traumatic event, we can sometimes forebode joy because it opens us up to vulnerability.

When our hearts are full & we’re feeling happy, there’s the possibility of it suddenly being stripped away & the thought of that happening can be terrifying, especially if you’ve had your joy crushed by a life changing trauma.

Sometimes in the cancer world, you can find yourself living in a constant state of ‘preparedness’. Preparing for bad news, preparing for recurrence, preparing for grim side effects, preparing for something to go wrong…

For me, I often find myself preparing for the worst but hoping for the best. It’s my way of protecting myself from any potential shock & destruction; my way to help manage the emotions that ensemble when you’re dealt a bad hand.

Whilst this state of preparedness can be helpful, I’ve also realised that it can lead to living half heartedly. I’m aware that I’m sometimes stopping myself from completely letting go & allowing myself to fully feel the happiness I deserve.

Life is going to keep happening, no matter what. Whilst it’s important to feel & process the raw emotions, it’s also important to allow yourself to soak in the joy & love that you deserve. We are all worthy of that. Even if it’s something that doesn’t feel possible right now, it’s something to strive for.

Letting our guards down can be terrifying, but it can also open us up to a world of fulfilment & feeling whole. 💫

Leave a comment