I’m 6 days post-op & covid has made an arrival, which would explain why I’ve been feeling extra crap. Frustratingly, this now makes post-op reviews impossible. I was supposed to have a wound & drain check today but that’s on hold til I test negative.

I’m cat napping throughout the night, getting the odd hours sleep here & there. Sleeping upright & on my back is uncomfortable, whilst trying to avoid getting tangled up in my drains. I’m weaning off the tramadol, so that’s a plus! But I’m really struggling to sleep with my covid throat added to the mix. I’m just hoping it’s kinder to me than last time (I ended up with neutropenic sepsis… but that was amidst chemo).

On Thursday my skin started to break out in what appeared to be a maculopapular rash (drug reaction), likely caused by my antibiotics… Painful/itchy spots on my scalp & face. I didn’t for once think this would happen now that I’ve completed chemo & Herceptin, but it seems I’ve developed sensitivities & my body is clearly run down.

I find it incredibly triggering whenever I get skin reactions, as this was a common occurrence during active treatment & something that really wore me to the ground, resulting in back to back delays & antibiotics. Thankfully (touch wood) things are improving on that front.

It all feels a little relentless lately but you have to laugh (or cry) … In my case, both. First, shingles, then bacterial tonsillitis which delayed this op & now covid to join the recovery party! I’m just hoping for no more uninvited guests, please…

Leave a comment