My port removal went relatively smoothly on Wednesday. My consultant guided another surgeon through the procedure, so it was interesting listening to the instructions with the cautery machine buzzing away next to my ear.

The removal process was slightly more ‘pleasant’ than the insertion, through both procedure & expression (hearing “Oh, that’s not good!” mid surgery can be a little unnerving when you’re awake 😆 – didn’t have any of that this time, thankfully).

The procedure is an odd sensation; a lot of pulling, pushing & tugging. I can see why people opt to have it under sedation or GA. The anaesthetic is bloody stingy & it’s hard not to focus on what’s happening, as your senses become very heightened when you’re placed in a vulnerable situation. But thankfully I’m not too phased by all this invasive stuff & I had a lovely ODP chatting to me the whole way through, underneath the drapes. The surgeon was equally as empathetic; I was apparently his youngest patient in the last 3 years!

I’ve been quite sore post-op but it’s definitely manageable in comparison to my breast surgeries! It looks to be healing nicely so far. There are all the usual risks to look out for; infection, DVT, PE, seromas etc but hopefully my body will behave, as it’s just over 3 weeks til my rescheduled breast op!🤞🏻

Leave a comment