The end of IV treatment means I’ll be saying farewell to my little portacath tomorrow!

Whilst my port provoked multiple clots in my jugular vein/shoulder & has caused me a fair bit of nerve pain, it’s truly been my little lifeline.

It has allowed me to complete my IV treatment (as many cycles my body could tolerate, at least).

Saved me from endless amounts of discomfort & stress of repeated attempts in finding a vein. In turn, minimising my time on the chemo suite. Win win!

Acted as a safety net for those dreaded CT scans & blood tests, knowing I could fall back on it if needed.

Been hassle free & quickly became ‘part of me’; I eventually forgot it was there.

Played ball on almost every occasion, which was a blessing compared to 2x blocked PICC lines during my first diagnosis.

It’s the only part of all this treatment that I’m actually quite sad to say goodbye to, as I now face the ordeal of blood tests with my shot veins… but that’s a small price to pay in the grand scheme of things.

Having my port inserted was the first ‘invasive’ step in this road to ‘NED’ & I’m so grateful to have reached this milestone of completing IV treatment (again)!

Leave a comment